Sicko Spurs Audiences Into Action

Sicko started; the stereotypical Texas guy sat down behind me and never stopped talking. He talked through the entire movie… and I listened. The first ten to twenty minutes of the film he spent badmouthing Moore to his wife and snorting in disgust whenever MM went into one of his trademark monologues. But as the movie wore on his protestations became quieter, less enthusiastic. Somewhere along the way, maybe at the half way point, right before my ears, Sicko changed this man’s mind. By the forty-five minute mark, he, along with the rest of the audience were breaking into spontaneous applause. He stopped pooh-poohing the movie and started shouting out “hell yeah!” at the screen. It was as if the whole world had been flipped upside down. This is Texas, where people support the president and voting democratic is something only done by the terrorists. Michael Moore should be public enemy number one.

Published in: on July 5, 2007 at 11:35 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://donkeyod.wordpress.com/2007/07/05/sicko-spurs-audiences-into-action/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well it’s a good thing you didn’t turn around and smack him in the mouth to shut him up after the first five minutes, then. Not that you would have done any such thing, of course.

    Do you really live in Texas? Such a shame. I liked it O when I had a friend living in San Antone during the 80s, but it regressed considerably after that. As did the rest of the country…

    You know, Michael Moore is considered a great man here. I have lots of Aussies ask me about this movie or the other. They pay a lot of attention to him. I even have an Internet friend on the other side of the country, in Perth, who remembers the “TV Nation” show Moore used to have on the Fox TV network in the early 90s. You would not BELIEVE how much American telly they get down here.

  2. I don’t live in Texas, if you’re asking me, Buk. The author of that piece apparently does. I loved the movie, and I pray that everyone is inspired by it as much as so many already seem to be. I like Michael Moore’s work a lot. I’m familiar with his TV Nation work too. Glad so many Aussies are into him.

  3. My bad! I didn’t see any attribution as with the other articles you link to, so I thought it was your own post.


Leave a Reply

