Battle-scarred ‘sub’ in L.A. barrios speaks out

Hi, my name is Migdia Chinea and I’m a recovering LAUSD “substitute.”

Oh, I’m also UCLA-educated with honors, refined, empathetic, college-level Spanish fluent and a Googleable professional screenwriter.

To make ends meet during hard economic times, I became a “substitute teacher” for the Los Angeles Unified School District, or LAUSD – or to put it more kindly, a “guest teacher.” As a guest LAUSD teacher I thought I would be an asset, but the system has never appreciated nor taken advantage of my educational or professional hard-earned accomplishments.

There’s no teaching going on at LAUSD – only confinement of the sort one may find in a penal colony, complete with walkie-talkie-carrying wardens and bullhorns. And I have “confined” at many different schools within central Los Angeles in the last six months. Many students scream “suuuuuuuub” when they see someone like me – a “guest teacher” – in their classroom and trample anyone and/or anything as they push and shove their way inside.

Published in: on November 17, 2007 at 1:22 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://donkeyod.wordpress.com/2007/11/17/battle-scarred-sub-in-la-barrios-speaks-out/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

